Skip to content

Licence clauses

AI data licence clauses, compared across programmes

Few programmes publish full licence terms. What is on record: exclusivity is rarely stated (Pewter and Troveo are the exceptions), terms run from a defined period to perpetual, payment comes from 7 days to Net 60 or as a revenue share, no one publishes clawbacks, and intermediary fees run from nothing to 30%.

Page updated 19 Oct 2026. Figures checked 18 Oct 2026 at their sources.

A lawyer marking clauses in two contracts laid side by side with coloured sticky tabs, a highlighter and a laptop

Clause by clause

What each programme prints

ProgrammeExclusivityRights and termPayment timingFee on the company sideReferral pay
Replay(Replay, checked 18 Oct 2026)Not statedExample buyer licence is perpetual (training, evaluation, model development)Upfront cash, then a perpetual revenue share per licenceNot publishedNone published
Polyshares(Polyshares, checked 18 Oct 2026)Not statedDefined material, defined term; company keeps its dataNet 30 to 60 after approval, sharing and anonymisationNone: no fee, no commissionNone published
Turing (Project Lazarus)(Turing, checked 18 Oct 2026)"Clean rights transfer"; exclusivity not otherwise statedOne contract, one valuationOne payment, no recurring commitmentNot publishedUp to $10k
Grepped(Grepped, checked 18 Oct 2026)Not statedEstimator prices one licence; owner keeps control until a purchaseAs little as 7 daysOwn commission not stated10% of the deal, up to $100K
Mercor(Mercor, checked 18 Oct 2026)Not statedOpt-in; nothing leaves before the company approvesWire on delivery, typically 2 to 4 weeks after signingNo upfront costs, setup fees or deductionsBonus once live, amount not stated
Troveo(Troveo, checked 18 Oct 2026)95% of its data is exclusive to Troveo (homepage); business-data terms not statedLicence; company keeps ownershipOn every resaleNo fees, no deductionsNone published
Pewter(Pewter, checked 18 Oct 2026)Some listed deals are perpetual and exclusiveDe-identified copy; owner keeps originalsPayment schedule or milestones in the written offerLicensing firm pays Pewter at close; owner pays nothingLink without terms
SimpleClosure AssetHub(SimpleClosure, checked 18 Oct 2026)Not statedLicence (keep the assets) or outright saleNot publishedPercentage on success, rate not publishedNone published
micro1(micro1, checked 18 Oct 2026)Not statedLicence; companies keep ownership; samples reviewable; US and allied buyers onlyWithin 30 days of invoice, after up to 30 days' reviewNot published$50K, or 7.5% above a $700K deal
Datarade(Datarade, checked 18 Oct 2026)Not stated; provider keeps ownership and IPProvider sells through the marketplaceNot published30% on the free plan; 20% or 15% on paid plans ($6,000 or $12,000 a year)None published

Restated from each programme's pages, checked 18 Oct 2026. “Not stated” means we found nothing public.

Exclusivity

Exclusivity decides whether the same records can be licensed again. In published content deals it is often ruled out: Informa describes its Microsoft agreement as non-exclusive (Informa RNS, checked 18 Oct 2026), and Calliope Networks states that its AI training licences are non-exclusive and exclude exhibition rights (Calliope Networks, checked 18 Oct 2026). On the company-data side, Pewter lists some deals as a perpetual, exclusive licence (Pewter, checked 18 Oct 2026), and Troveo's homepage says 95% of its data is exclusive to it (Troveo, checked 18 Oct 2026). Everyone else is silent.

Term and what survives it

Polyshares licenses defined material for a defined term (Polyshares, checked 18 Oct 2026). The HarperCollins book licence with Microsoft ran three years (MediaNama, checked 18 Oct 2026). At the other end, Replay's example licence for buyers is perpetual for training, evaluation and model development (Replay, checked 18 Oct 2026). A model trained during a term keeps what it learned, so the useful questions are about copies, onward transfer and deletion at the end.

Payment timing and shape

Three shapes appear. A single payment: Turing pays once, up to $1M (Turing, checked 18 Oct 2026). A payment on delivery or approval: Mercor wires on delivery, typically 2 to 4 weeks after signing (Mercor, checked 18 Oct 2026); Polyshares pays Net 30 to 60 once the data is approved; Grepped says as little as 7 days (Grepped, checked 18 Oct 2026). A recurring share: Replay adds a perpetual revenue share to upfront cash, Troveo pays on every resale, and Magma pays a revenue share as data licenses (Magma, checked 18 Oct 2026). Large content licences also mix forms: Informa reported an initial fee of $10m+ plus recurring payments over three years.

Clawbacks and warranties

None of the programmes we track publishes clawback, refund or warranty clauses. That does not mean they are absent from the contracts. Payments that can be reversed for quality, completeness or a buyer's rejection are worth less than the same amount paid clean, so this is the clause to ask for in writing.

Who pays the intermediary

Datarade charges data providers 30% commission on its free plan and 20% or 15% on paid plans costing $6,000 or $12,000 a year (Datarade, checked 18 Oct 2026). SimpleClosure takes a percentage when assets sell or license (SimpleClosure, checked 18 Oct 2026). Pewter is paid by the licensing firm at close. Created by Humans takes a cut of author deals, according to TechCrunch (TechCrunch, checked 18 Oct 2026). Polyshares, Troveo and Mercor say the company pays nothing.

Referral pay

Three programmes publish referral amounts: Grepped (10% of the deal, up to $100K), micro1 ($50K, or 7.5% above a $700K deal) and Turing (up to $10k). Mercor pays an unstated bonus once the referred company goes live. When an introduction arrives from someone else, it is fair to ask whether a referral fee is attached.

Not legal advice. This page compares what is published. A licence for company records also touches data protection, employment and client contracts; those questions belong with a lawyer who has read the actual agreement.

Keep reading

FAQ

Frequently asked questions

01Are AI data licences usually exclusive?

The large content deals with public terms often are not: Informa calls its Microsoft deal non-exclusive and Calliope Networks says its AI training licences are non-exclusive. Among company-data programmes, Pewter lists some perpetual exclusive deals and Troveo says most of its data is exclusive to it.

02How long does an AI data licence last?

It varies: Polyshares licenses for a defined term, the HarperCollins and Microsoft book licence ran three years, and Replay's example licence for buyers is perpetual. Many programmes do not publish a term at all.

03When are companies paid under these licences?

Published timings range from as little as 7 days (Grepped) and 2 to 4 weeks after signing (Mercor) to Net 30 to 60 after approval (Polyshares). Revenue-share models such as Replay and Troveo pay as the data licenses again.

04Do programmes publish clawback clauses?

None of the programmes we track publishes clawback or refund terms. That makes it a point to ask about: refunds tied to quality, completeness or a buyer rejecting the set can change what a payment is worth.

05What do intermediaries charge?

Datarade charges providers 15% to 30% commission plus a plan fee on paid tiers. SimpleClosure takes an unpublished success percentage. Pewter is paid by the licensing firm. Polyshares, Troveo and Mercor say they deduct nothing from the company.

06Which programmes pay referral fees?

Grepped pays 10% of the deal up to $100K, micro1 $50K (7.5% above a $700K deal) and Turing up to $10k. Mercor pays an unstated bonus. A referrer paid by the programme is worth knowing about when an introduction comes your way.

Stay current

Get the monthly price update

Once a month: deals that disclosed a value, programmes that changed their published figures, and corrections to this site. Free, and one click to leave.

One email a month: new deals, changed programme figures, corrections. See the data protection notice.

Holding an offer already? Compare it with published ranges.