Skip to content

Programme directory

Programmes that pay for company data, compared

21 programmes and channels publish terms for data used in AI training. For company records, Replay, Handshake AI, micro1, Polyshares, Turing, Grepped, Mercor, Troveo, Pewter and SimpleClosure publish the most: ranges from $10K to $5M, one-off or revenue-share payment, and entry bars from none to 30 employees.

Page updated 19 Oct 2026. Figures checked 18 Oct 2026 at their sources.

A company founder on a video call at her desk, notebook open, in a small office with plants and bookshelves

At a glance

All 21 programmes in one table

ProgrammePublished rangeEligibilityReferral feeSource
Greppedcompany data · profile$20K to $5MNot publishedRefer for up to $100K(Grepped, checked 18 Oct 2026)
micro1company data · profile$100K to $500K, $500K to $2M, $2M+ tiers30+ employees, established documentation, English; US first, then other Western marketsReferral page: Enterprise Data Partnerships $50,000 for deals up to $700,000, or 7.5% of the deal value for deals above $700,000(micro1, checked 18 Oct 2026)
Handshake AIcompany data · profile$100K to $4M+20+ full-time employees and 3+ years in operationNone published(Handshake AI, checked 18 Oct 2026)
SimpleClosure (AssetHub)company data · profileTens to hundreds of thousandsWind-downs, and operating companies that want to licenseNone published(SimpleClosure, checked 18 Oct 2026)
Mercorcompany data · profileNot published (quote on request)Not publishedReferral bonus paid when the referred company goes live and starts earning(Mercor, checked 18 Oct 2026)
Turing (Project Lazarus)company data · profileUp to $1M, one paymentOperating and winding-down companiesRefer & Earn up to $10k(Turing, checked 18 Oct 2026)
Pewtercompany data · profile$385K to $895K at 100 staff, 10 yearsOwners of US firms with 20+ employeesNone published(Pewter, checked 18 Oct 2026)
Ooak Datacompany dataNot publishedNot publishedNone published(Y Combinator, checked 18 Oct 2026)
Sunsetcompany dataNot publishedStartups it winds downNone published(MIT Technology Review, checked 18 Oct 2026)
Replaycompany data · profile$10K to $1M+ by headcountRanges published from 20 employeesNone published(Replay, checked 18 Oct 2026)
Polysharescompany data · profile$100K to $2MAny sector: venture-backed, middle market or founder-ownedNone published(Polyshares, checked 18 Oct 2026)
Magmacompany dataRevenue share, % not publishedCompanies building AI agents (agent traces only)None published(Magma, checked 18 Oct 2026)
Petrarchcompany dataNot publishedLegacy businesses, startups, companies in bankruptcy or pivots; manufacturing firstNone published(Y Combinator, checked 18 Oct 2026)
Troveocompany data · profileFrom six figuresEstimator covers 20 to 1,000+ employeesNone published(Troveo, checked 18 Oct 2026)
Defined.aimarketplace / mediaPer dataset; several partners above $1M a yearPartners must hold the right to commercialise the data for AI trainingNone published(Defined.ai, checked 18 Oct 2026)
Protegemarketplace / mediaNot publishedNot publishedNone published(Protege, checked 18 Oct 2026)
Created by Humansmarketplace / mediaNot publishedAuthors, agents and publishersNone published(Created by Humans, checked 18 Oct 2026)
Calliope Networksmarketplace / mediaNot publishedFilm, TV and video rights holders and creatorsNone published(Calliope Networks, checked 18 Oct 2026)
Datarademarketplace / mediaCommission 15% to 30%, plus plan fee on paid tiersAny data provider listing on the marketplaceNone published(Datarade, checked 18 Oct 2026)
Wirestockmarketplace / mediaNot publishedIndividual creatorsNone published(Wirestock, checked 18 Oct 2026)
Surge AIcompany dataNot publishedNot publishedNone published(MIT Technology Review, checked 18 Oct 2026)

Profiles

Programmes with enough on record for a profile

Each of these publishes at least 4 checkable facts: what it takes, its figures, how it pays, who qualifies, its licence or its referral terms.

Head to head

Directory only

Company-data programmes with thinner public detail

These take operational records too, but publish too little for a profile. Each card quotes what is on record and says where nothing is.

Ooak Data

Company data
What they buy
Company tool data (Gmail, Slack, Notion, Jira, Drive, SharePoint), anonymised into a "digital twin" and turned into RL environments.
Published price
Not published.
How they pay
Not published.
Referral fee
None published.
Source [2] [3], checked 18 Oct 2026

Sunset

Company data
What they buy
Data of startups being wound down (code, workspace data) resold to AI buyers.
Published price
Not published.
How they pay
Not published.
Referral fee
None published.
Source, checked 18 Oct 2026

Magma

Company data
What they buy
Agent interaction data from companies building AI agents: "traces, corrections, completed workflows". Intake asks where agent data lives (e.g. Langfuse, Postgres, S3) and monthly trace volume.
Published price
Not published.
How they pay
"A revenue share, paid as your data licenses." Share % not stated; "Terms are in the data agreement we sign during onboarding."
Referral fee
None published.
Source [2] [3], checked 18 Oct 2026

Petrarch

Company data
What they buy
Internal company data, "starting with manufacturing and industrial companies"; codebases, project files and payments records incl. from bankruptcy courts; says it has transacted construction plans, autonomous-driving recordings and codebases. Targets legacy businesses, startups and companies in bankruptcy or pivots.
Published price
Not published.
How they pay
Not published.
Referral fee
None published.
Source [2], checked 18 Oct 2026

Surge AI

Company data
What they buy
Startup archives to build reinforcement-learning gyms for training AI agents.
Published price
Not published.
How they pay
Not published.
Referral fee
None published.
Source, checked 18 Oct 2026

Adjacent channels

Marketplaces and media licensing

Mostly media, books, creator content or dataset listings. They matter here as reference points for commission levels and licence structures.

Defined.ai

Marketplace / media
What they buy
Text, audio, image, video or multimodal datasets, incl. "hard-to-source datasets"; partners must hold "the right to commercialize the data for AI training". No fixed minimum size. High-demand: cinematic video, anime, coding, STEM.
Published price
Commercial terms "depend on the dataset type, usage, and customer needs" and are "always aligned with and approved by the partner". Press release (27 Jan 2026): "Several partners now generate more than $1 million annually".
How they pay
"Licensing fees from data marketplace sales". Split % not stated.
Referral fee
None published.
Source [2], checked 18 Oct 2026

Protege

Marketplace / media
What they buy
Domains: Healthcare, Video, Audio & Speech, Spatial & Physical, Other Domains. Series A post (13 Aug 2025): "over 100 data partners across healthcare and media"; over 300,000 hours of video, over 500,000 hours of audio, billions of clinical notes, hundreds of millions of medical images.
Published price
Not published.
How they pay
Not published.
Referral fee
None published.
Source [2] [3], checked 18 Oct 2026

Created by Humans

Marketplace / media
What they buy
Books from authors, agents and publishers: "training, reference, and transformative rights", titles "fully rights cleared".
Published price
Not published.
How they pay
Negotiates agreements for rights-holder approval; payments tracked in a dashboard. TechCrunch: Created by Humans "would take a cut of the deal" (no % disclosed).
Referral fee
None published.
Source [2], checked 18 Oct 2026

Calliope Networks

Marketplace / media
What they buy
Audiovisual content (movies, TV series, news); catalog of more than 35,000 hours of TV and film; "License to Scrape" collective licence for creators' YouTube and other platform videos.
Published price
Not published.
How they pay
Creators under the collective licence "compensated according to a formula based on volume and subscriber count". No split % published.
Exclusivity
"AI model training licenses are non-exclusive and do not include exhibition rights."
Referral fee
None published.
Source, checked 18 Oct 2026

Datarade

Marketplace / media
What they buy
Marketplace listing for data providers; FAQ lists "AI training datasets" among publishable data types. Does not buy data itself: "Your data stays with you."
Published price
Provider plans: Commission-only $0/year + 30% commission; Bronze $6,000/year + 20%; Silver $12,000/year + 15%; Gold custom.
How they pay
Provider sells to buyers through the marketplace; Datarade takes the commission above. Provider retains ownership and IP.
Referral fee
None published.
Source, checked 18 Oct 2026

Wirestock

Marketplace / media
What they buy
Creator content (images, video) opted in to GenAI licensing, used in AI training datasets.
Published price
Not published.
How they pay
Creators paid when content is "selected and used by AI companies"; "earn royalties or lump-sum payments". No % stated.
Referral fee
None published.
Source, checked 18 Oct 2026

Reading the directory

Headline ranges overlap so much that they rarely separate one programme from another. The structure of the deal does. Four points show the real differences:

  1. Counterparty. Polyshares holds the licence itself; Grepped lets labs buy listings; Pewter places records with a licensing firm it does not name. The party that ends up with the copy is not always the party you talk to.
  2. Payment shape. A single payment (Turing), an upfront sum plus a perpetual share (Replay), or a payment per resale (Troveo). Shares depend entirely on how often the data licenses again.
  3. Cleaning and review. Mercor covers anonymisation itself, Polyshares uses a PII partner and micro1 lets companies review samples first. Whether a seller sees the cleaned output before transfer varies.
  4. Who pays the middle. Pewter is paid by the licensing firm, SimpleClosure takes a success percentage, Datarade charges providers 15% to 30%. Polyshares and Troveo say they deduct nothing.

The licence clause comparison lines these up clause by clause, and the payout range filter narrows the list to a given headcount and record type.

Keep reading

Insights

More on this topic

All insights
  1. Mercor vs micro1: Company Data Programmes Compared (2026)Mercor vs micro1 on published terms: micro1 shows $100K to $2M+ tiers and pays 30 days after acceptance, Mercor quotes per company and pays on delivery.Read

FAQ

Frequently asked questions

01Which programmes pay companies for data used in AI training?

Programmes with public terms include Handshake AI, micro1, Replay, Polyshares, Turing, Grepped, Mercor, Troveo, Pewter and SimpleClosure. Most do not name the labs they supply. The directory above lists every one we track, with sources.

02Do frontier labs ever buy directly?

Rarely in public. The best-documented case is Google paying $10 million for Spirit Airlines' data in a bankruptcy sale. Most company records reach labs through a programme that collects, cleans and licenses them.

03What separates a buyer, a marketplace and a broker?

Polyshares and Turing buy or license for themselves. Grepped runs a marketplace where labs buy listings. Pewter brokers to a licensing firm that pays its fee. Replay says it is neither a marketplace nor a broker.

04Which programmes publish referral fees?

Grepped (10% of the deal, up to $100K), micro1 ($50K, or 7.5% above a $700K deal) and Turing (up to $10k). Mercor pays a bonus once the referred company goes live but gives no amount.

05Is there a minimum company size?

Several programmes start at 20 employees (Handshake AI, Replay's bands, Pewter, Troveo's estimator) and micro1 at 30. Polyshares, Grepped and Turing publish no minimum.

06Why do some programmes have a profile and others not?

A profile needs at least 4 sourced facts from the programme's own pages or reliable reporting. Programmes with less stay in the directory so the site has no thin pages.

07Do programmes pay once or over time?

Both models exist. Turing pays once; Replay pays upfront plus a perpetual revenue share; Troveo pays on every resale; Magma pays a revenue share as data licenses; Polyshares pays Net 30 to 60 after approval.

Stay current

Get the monthly price update

Once a month: deals that disclosed a value, programmes that changed their published figures, and corrections to this site. Free, and one click to leave.

One email a month: new deals, changed programme figures, corrections. See the data protection notice.

Holding an offer already? Compare it with published ranges.